Happy Valentine’s Day – The Black & Blue Anti-Valentine Dress

Happy Valentines Day! My intentions weren’t to finish this dress in time for a Valentine’s Day post, but I did, so I added the “Anti-Valentines” because I’m riding solo this year! Black and Blue, because duh, it’s black and blue!

photo (2)

The pattern is New Look 6123, view C without the arm flange.  I made view B back in August.

photo (18)

I cut a straight 8, but used a 1/4″ seam allowance in the skirt. By the look and feel of the bodice,  I need to take more in via the darts. I finished the neckline and armholes with black bias binding tape. Next time, I’ll shave off a bit of the neckline and front armhole.

photo

I love the lightweight feel of the fabric! I found it at a little old fabric store with mostly fabrics for quilting. It’s definitely a poly cotton or rayon.

photo (11)

I wanted the V-cut to go lower but I ended up taking in an extra inch in the zipper, so it brought up the depth of the V. The zipper is just a regular black zip- all I had on hand! There’s also a vent back there too!

photo (20)

This is a great pattern for a bold print like this! I definitely have plans to make a few more!

10 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day – The Black & Blue Anti-Valentine Dress

  1. Lovely dress! I like how the fabric looks almost like lace from afar – that is what I thought it was at first.
    I meant to comment on your previous dress as well but I’ve been following your blog and I love your style – keep it up! :)

  2. Pingback: Butterick 5526 & New Look 6123 | Seamstress from Venus

  3. Pingback: White Blouse (Butterick 5526) & Leopard Skirt (New Look 6123) | Seamstress from Venus

Leave a Reply

