Finished Project: M6744 Palm Tree Dress

This is view C of McCall’s 6744. Even though the pattern says to only use moderate stretch fabric, I used a polyester silk. I like breaking rules 🙂

ImageI shortened the bodice by 2″, mimicking the alterations from the racer back dress, but forgetting that this wasn’t going to stretch. DOI! Anyways, it looks more empire waist dress.

Image

Actually, according the my aunt it would be a cute tunic with leggings! LOL! Guess that’s a nice way of saying it’s too short! I made a 2″ hem, just in case I decide to adjust the length later. The neckline and armholes are finished with a regular narrow hem. I like the way it looks accentuated with a black belt. But in case you’re wondering what it looks like without, here ya go:

Image

Elastic brings it all together at the waist and adds the ruching at the shoulder seams.

Image

The fabric was an impulse buy from Joann’s. It spoke to me. Aside from Spanish, I also am 100% fluent in the fabric dialect. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Finished Project: M6744 Palm Tree Dress

Leave a Reply

