Finished Project: Butterick 5526 Black and White Gingham Collar Shirt

This past weekend I attended my first Dodger game! I purchased my hat and envisioned wearing this gingham button up, that I’ve been meaning to make. This came together in one evening, as I sewed the last button on at 3 in the morning.

20130814-092208.jpg
I’ve used this pattern once before, so it came together quite easily. I lost the collar pattern so I drafted my own, making it a little bigger so I can pop that colla’. Lol

20130814-092322.jpg
Upon looking at the pictures, I am realizing that I have a slight sway back.

20130814-085510.jpg
I cut the pocket and the front placket on the bias. I love the interesting dimension it adds!

20130814-091736.jpg
The buttons are actually snaps! Remember how I had said that I lost my button making foot? Well, in a desperate attempt to find one this weekend, I visited several sewing stores. I ended up not finding what I needed at the time, but what I found was even better! I was truly blessed to have met a wonderful lady who gave me a one on one tutorial on how to make a buttonhole without a foot. I ended up not being able to do it quite as well as she did, which is why I resorted to the snaps. A day later she got in contact with me and said she had found an extra buttonhole foot! I met her at her sewing studio and let me tell you, it was a sewers dream! We chatted about sewing and she even asked if I wanted to go through the fabrics she was going to get rid of! Seamstresses are the kindest of people!

20130814-092606.jpg

3 thoughts on “Finished Project: Butterick 5526 Black and White Gingham Collar Shirt

Leave a Reply

