Finished Project: Vogue 8697 Pleather & Denim Skirt

As I was rummaging through my pattern stash, I came across Vogue 8697, and made option D, using the leftover fabric from the motorcycle jacket.

photoI actually made this skirt pattern two years ago in grey with black pipping. It was one of my first projects and I remember adding the interfacing to the lining instead of the outer fabric. It took me about a month to make. This one came together in a couple days.

photo (7)The contrasting pleather panels remind me of the Stella McCartney silhouette dress. I think the next time I make this skirt, I’ll make the hip panels smaller and more curvier to add more of a shapely illusion. I would also shorten the waistband facing because I feel like it kind of overpowers my small body! I already shortened the skirt pattern by 2″.

photo (8)

I’m slowly overcoming my zipper fear! Exposed zippers are my favorite way to practice!

photo (21)

One of my favorite parts about sewing is being able to add fun facings and linings! I decided not to completely line this one because I felt it would be too hot and sticky with the pleather and denim.

photo (17)

I’m quite pleased with the way it turned out! It’s a great transitional piece for the fall!

3 thoughts on “Finished Project: Vogue 8697 Pleather & Denim Skirt

  1. Wow it really looks good on you. Really accentuates your waist. I was thinking of doing something similar, but then a dress with pleather panels instead if a skirt.

Leave a Reply

