Back At It With Basics

It has been well over a year since my last post, and I can happily say that I am back! Shortly after my last post, I began working full time at a fashion design and manufacturing company. My primary title is Customer Service Representative, working a lot with product development and production. I must say, there are days where I want to rip my hair out and have a nervous breakdown due to the amount of stress and error that occurs on a daily basis, but I truly do love what I do. I’m constantly learning new material and a lot of what I learn, I apply to my sewing projects! Which brings me to why I’m here! To show you my projects! 🙂

Although my time has been extremely occupied, I still always have at least a project, or two (or three!) on my table. What passionate seamstress doesn’t ?

Aside from small altering jobs for my sister, I have been making a lot of basics for myself. Every time I show my sister, who is also my roommate, a newly finished project, her reaction is : “Oh great…. another shirt… just what you need.” (sarcasm implied). But really it is JUST what I need! On a typical day at work, I am running to and fro in the warehouse and the office, so I HAVE to dress comfortable. Usually I’ll wear a t-shirt and jeans with my chucks and a hat, depending on my mood.

IMG_5311

This is a perfect example of what I wore to work one day! I have about 3 different colored v-neck tees that I wear ALL the time, so of course, it only made sense to make another one. I love this purple knit, so I just copied a v-neck tee that I already had by laying it out on top of the fabric and just cut, always making sure to leave enough for seam allowance and voila! I’ve been doing this a lot lately, mostly because I ran out of pattern paper.

IMG_5318

Obligatory back shot. I am really stoked the way this basic tee turned out! This was my first time adding a neckband, and I was so shocked at how easy it was to apply and professional it looked.

Since we’re on the topic of basics, I’ll include a couple more in this post!

This one here is my design, The Perfect Tee.

IMG_5304

Believe it or not, I didn’t own a stripe tee before this one. I would borrow my sisters, but eventually it started looking tattered. I know there’s like billions of striped tees in the stores, but I could never find one I really liked. Solution? Make my own!

IMG_5301
Simple, basic and well fitting. As this next tee is! The pattern is The Perfect Tee, but I made it short sleeve and removed the deep back scoop.
IMG_5287

IMG_5291

As a side note, I’m living in a new place, hence the new photo location, so I’m still working out what area of the apartment works best for my photo shoots. Or if I should try outside (probably), and forget about what the neighbors think lol. I was actually riding my bike the other day and saw someone posing, for what I assumed, was his blog, because he was dressed hella dope!

Well that’s it for now! I have a good round of finished projects lined up to show you, just didn’t want to overwhelm ya’ll in one post.

PEACE!

4 thoughts on “Back At It With Basics

  1. I’m so happy that you are still sewing and now blogging again! It was fun to receive your email today! Keep up your awesome work and congratulations on your full time job! I’ll be waiting to see more of your creations!

  2. Love your blog…You are so creative! You have a very special gift and are extremely talented. Love you to moon!

Leave a Reply

