Black Everyday Dress

Aside from my black wrap dress and a circle skirt dress, I didn’t own an everyday black dress before I made this essential. But I didn’t want to make any sheath dress, I needed one that wasn’t too tight and casual for everyday wear.

IMG_5368

For this pattern, I just pulled one of my favorite knit dresses from my closet and used that as a template. Although I do have a sheath dress pattern, I knew that this dress already fit me perfectly and I wouldn’t have to fuss with paper or fix any measurements. The fabric is a heavy rayon spandex that I’ve had in my stash for quite some time now. I used two layers of fabric for this dress to avoid any possible see through-ness and visible undergarment lines. I finished the neck and armholes with 1/2″ self fabric band – one of my new favorite ways of finishing garments. The hem is finished with a double needle cover stitch.

IMG_5366

It’s hard to tell the looseness of this dress due to the dark color, but it is there! Especially in the waistline. I really like the way the fit turned out! It’s comfortable but I don’t feel sloppy.

This is how I wore this dress to work one day:

IMG_5374

I’m so glad 90’s fashion is coming back! Denim jackets and vests are definitely my steez! 🙂

Have a wonderful week and stay tuned for more sewing projects!

Till next time …… PEACE!!

10 thoughts on “Black Everyday Dress

  1. You are very brave to copy a RTW, but also very wise. It looks great on you and I love it with the denim vest!

Leave a Reply

