White Summer Dress

This dress started as a muslin (a first fitting) for my black everyday tank dress. I used the same staple knit dress as a base pattern, changing just about everything but the body shape. The jersey that I used didn’t have as much stretch as the original dress, so my version came out slightly tighter and shorter than what I’m accustomed to.
IMG_5559

Since the jersey was so thin and see through (I think it’s a polyester/ cotton blend), I layered the body THREE times!! This fixed the opaqueness of the fabric and gave it a nice heavy weight. Next problem to solve was the length. I left this hanging in my room for weeks before I decided what my next move was going to be – add a flounce at the bottom hem to match the top of the dress!

IMG_5548The top flounce works as a facing and cleanly finished the neck and armhole edges. I made it by tracing the top part of the dress (no longer than the waist), onto paper, marked a couple inch notches at the bottom of the paper, and slashed/ spread, just like I would when adding volume to a circle skirt. The hem of the top & bottom flounce are rolled on the serger.

IMG_5556I have yet to wear this dress, but I see many opportunities within the near future with the weather only getting hotter as we approach August!

On a side note, for those of you who may have ready my ABOUT… ME! section, you know that I LOVE hip-hop. I absorb my musical intake from SoundCloud, and recently, I discovered this AMAZING station – Soulection Radio. They mix old sounds with the sounds of tomorrow. It’s all about the good vibes and that’s what I’m all about. I highly recommend checking it out!

Till next time… PEACE!!

4 thoughts on “White Summer Dress

  1. I love the dress, what a good idea. I am really enjoying your blogg. I have just started sewing and finding your projects so inspiring. I hope to be as good as you one day 🙂 I will keep practising!

Leave a Reply

