Leopard and Spray Print Crop Tops

Although summer has officially ended, temperatures here in Southern California have ceased to drop. Thus, it is still necessary to sport my tanks n’ shorts.
IMG_0633The fabric is a rayon challis that was actually about to be thrown out at work, as it was barely 1/4 yard. Accompanying the almost discarded fabric was a long strip of 1″ wide bias binding, which was perfect to make the straps and neck/armhole binding.

IMG_0636Per usual, I made this by using the body of a garment I knew fit me and cut around that on my fabric. (the fabric of the garment was similar to the one I was cutting). The double straps just came about as I was playing with the placement of the bias binding – functional and fashionable!

If you couldn’t tell from the first photo, here’s a closer shot of the double straps.

IMG_0700

IMG_0701

I made this tank back in July and it’s definitely one of my favorite crop tops to wear with high waist pants. So much so, that I made an identical one in a polyester “spray print” (that’s what I like to call it because it’s crazy and wild!).

IMG_0658This is basically the same except the binding is wider and single strap. This version also has a little more high-low action going on vs. the other one.

IMG_0702IMG_0703

I’m bummed summer is coming to an end but that only means there is fall/winter sewing on my horizion!

Stay tuned! And as always – PEACE! 🙂

One thought on “Leopard and Spray Print Crop Tops

Leave a Reply

